Board Directors and Supervisory Committee Compensation

Notice of Compensation for Officials

(January 2024)

TwinStar Credit Union has established a Compensation Policy to provide reasonable compensation for its Board of Directors and Supervisory Committee (Elected Officials) as allowed by Washington law and the credit union's Bylaws. The TwinStar Board believes the payment of compensation to Elected Officials will enhance the credit union’s ability to attract and retain qualified Elected Officials to represent the members. There are currently 13 members of the Board of Directors and 7 members of Supervisory Committee.

Responsibilities of Officials. The Board of Directors is responsible for the general direction and control of the credit union. The Directors serve on multiple committees and generally meet monthly. The Board establishes the strategic plan, annual budget and policies, and reviews the credit union’s financial performance. The Supervisory Committee is responsible for overseeing internal controls, conducting an annual audit of the financial statements, and verifying the accuracy of members’ accounts. The size and complexity of TwinStar requires Elected Officials with financial knowledge, diverse skills and dedication to meet the management demands of a competitive and highly regulated financial services industry. The time demands of Elected Officials’ meetings, meeting preparation, regulatory training and continuing education warrants fair and reasonable compensation.

TwinStar Financial Performance. TwinStar has consistently achieved strong financial performance that supports reasonable compensation. TwinStar delivers competitive financial services to our members while ensuring safety and soundness of the credit union.  To ensure a sound future, TwinStar has built net worth that exceeds the levels required by its regulators to be classified as well capitalized and achieved strong net income to maintain or grow net worth, and manage the risks within its operations. For more information about TwinStar’s financial performance, please visit our web site at

Due Diligence. The TwinStar Board has conducted due diligence research on compensation structures and compensation levels of credit unions, other financial institutions and non-profit organizations of proportional size, complexity, mission and financial performance as TwinStar. The Board reviewed the peer group compensation data and market information of peer credit unions, banks and non-profit organizations for a comparative analysis of reasonable compensation in TwinStar’s regional and national market. Based on TwinStar’s strong financial condition and progressive mission, the Board established a compensation schedule for the Elected Officials that is reasonable and consistent among peer credit unions and other organizations.

Compensation Schedule (2023-2024). The credit union provides reasonable compensation in the form of an annual stipend, paid quarterly, based on the leadership and position held and the Compensation Program will begin June 12, 2023. This structure provides compensation commensurate with the respective time demands of the different positions.  The following annual compensation was approved for the Elected Officials for 2023-2024:

Board Chair$30,000
Board Member$20,000
Committee Chair/Executive CommitteeAdditional $5,000 (Board Chair included)
Supervisory Committee Chair$15,000
Supervisory Committee Member$10,000


Compensation Paid in 2023

The following compensation was paid to the Elected Officials during the calendar year of 2023:

TwinStar Credit Union Board

David Rainwater (Board Chair) $30,833.34
Ron Hastie $22,916.67
Donna Feliciano $22,291.67
Mark Neary $22,291.67
Gayla Gjertsen $17,916.67
Brian Hurley $17,916.67
Jena Miller $17,916.67
Kim Martin $20,833.33
Brad Anderson$20,000.00
Barb Blackmore$20,000.00
Richard Leung$20,000.00
Thomas Pettus-Czar$22,916.66
Jon Ruiz$22,916.66


 TwinStar Credit Union Supervisory Committee

Erik Kupka (Supervisory Committee Chair)$13,750.00
Cathi McNutt$10,833.33
Bryson Bristol$9,166.67
Christy Raske$9,166.67
Diane Bingaman$9,166.67
Robert Erick$9,166.66
Kristen Rutherford$9,166.66


Additionally, and prior to merger date, the following Board Directors, Board Associate and Supervisory Committee member were paid by Northwest Community Credit Union (NWCU), an Oregon credit union.  As of June 11, 2023, the three NWCU Board members resigned from the Board and one Supervisory Committee member resigned from the Supervisory Committee; and Associates for TwinStar Credit Union are not compensated per Washington State regulators. 

Northwest Community Credit Union from January 1, 2023 to June 11, 2023

Sarah Means$7,208.33
Darcy Phillips$7,108.33
Barry Houk$10,244.44
Sidney Leiken$2,683.33
Kyrria Martinez$2,000.00


The Board elects the Board officers following the Annual Meeting each year.

Should you have questions regarding this, please contact our Chief Administrative Officer Tammy Teeter at